Jamaica Tallawahs defeats Patriots by 47 runs in CPL 2022 opener

Image credit – Getty Images

Brandon King powered Jamaica Tallawahs to a 47-run win over St Kitts & Nevis Patriots in CPL 2022 opener

Jamaica Tallawahs beat defending champions St Kitts & Nevis Patriots to kick off the 10th edition of the Caribbean Premier League

Jamaica Tallwahs’s Brandon King was adjudged player of the match for his 89(57)

King said “I’m extremely happy playing my first game for my home franchise. It wasn’t easy at first but we stuck it out. It wasn’t an easy pitch to bat on.”

“We realized that early that it was hard for new guys to get in.”

“There were various points where we tried to [accelerate]. We had wickets in hand so we could do that but it was still difficult.”

Tallawahs were the better team in all facets, but especially in their fielding tonight.

]Patriots fielding was beyond woeful with countless drops and missed runouts.

Tallawahs on the other hand was nearly flawless in the catching department and notched a win on the opening night of CPL 2022 over the defending champs.

Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings, and Trinbago Knight Riders are the six participating teams.

The top four teams will move to the playoffs starting on September 28, with the final scheduled on October 1.

CPL tournament history & details

The Caribbean Premier League is an annual Twenty20 cricket tournament held in the Caribbean.

It was founded by Cricket West Indies in 2013 to replace the Caribbean Twenty20 as the premier Twenty20 competition in the Caribbean.

The inaugural tournament was won by the Jamaica Tallawahs who defeated the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final.

CPL 2022 schedule, date, venue details

The 10th edition of the Caribbean Premier League is scheduled to begin on 1st September 2022 (IST)

The defending champions St Kitts & Nevis Patriots will be taking on Jamaica Tallawahs in the opening match.

The tournament will finish on the 1st of October at Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The tournament will be taking place across four venues.

From 1st September to 5th September, Warner Park at St. Kitts will organize all the games.

St. Lucia will then take over from September 7th till September 12.

Trinidad will then host from September 14 to 19 and Guyana from the 21st of September till the finals on 1st October.

CPL 2022 Squad for Jamaica Tallawahs

Rovman Powell (c), Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Shamarh Brooks, Mohammad Amir, Sandeep Lamichhane, Imad Wasim, Chris Green, Miguel Pretorius, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shemar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk McKenzie, Joshua James

The franchise was the winner of the inaugural Hero CPL ‘Jamaica Talahwas’. They represent Jamaica in the Caribbean Premier League.

Jamaica Tallahwahs has given consistent performances in the previous seasons

They will be looking forward to doing the same this year too.

Moreover, the Jamaica Tallawahs have won their second title in 2016. Currently, Rovman Powell is the skipper of the team. whereas the famous former cricketer, Shivnarine Chanderpaul is the coach of the team.

Although they had a season to forget last year when they finished 7th on the points table, they will be eager to bounce back this year

For more sports and entertainment news, follow us on Twitter and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL 2023 Predictions: PBKS vs MI

Punjab Kings and Mumbai Indians will clash in Match 45 of the IPL 2023 on Wednesday evening in Mohali. Mumbai Indians have been very inconsistent...

IPL nuggets: Fans go gaga over Ishant’s knuckle ball

Delhi Capitals pulled off a major upset by beating the table toppers Gujarat Titans by 5 runs at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium yesterday. Defending a...

IPL nuggets: Kohli and Gambhir clash again after LSG lose

Cricketers Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir are known for their aggression. Unfortunately, that attitude has cost them dearly! Both have been fined 100 per cent of...