PSL: Shan Masood & Muzarabani make it six out of six for the relentless Multan Sultans

Shan Masood continued his brilliant form in this PSL season by scoring yet another half-century.

Blessing Muzarabani picked up 3 wickets to wrap up Peshawar Zalmi 42 runs short of the target.

Khushdil Shah also claimed a 3-for as he cleaned up the Peshawar’s lower order.

Khushdil Shah is now the second leading wicket-taker of this season with 12 wickets and he is just 2 wickets behind from the leading wicket-taker of PSL 7, Shadab khan who has picked up 14 wickets in the tournament so far. 

Multan Sultans       20 overs       182-7

Masood 68 (49)              Wahab 2-34                                                                                                                                   David 34 (18)                  Irshad 2-34                                                                                                                          Rizwan 34 (34)               Mahmood 2-44

Peshawar Zalmi   19.3 overs   140 all-out 

Malik 44 (31)                   Muzarabani 3-18                                                                                                        Livingstone 24 (16)         Khushdil 3-26                                                                                                                      Cutting 23 (11)                Dahani 2-35

The Tournament shifted from Karachi to Lahore, so the group and pitches were changed.

However, nothing changed for the undefeated Multan Sultans who registered their 6th consecutive win of the season.

Multan Sultans comfortably defeated the Peshawar Zalmi by 42 runs and it was all set up by the excellent batting of Multan’s top 3 batters.

The 98 run opening stand between Shan Masood and Mohammed Rizwan gave Multan a solid platform to put a big total on the board.

Tim David also contributed an 18-ball 34 runs knock.

Multan Sultans failed to score many runs from the last 3 overs as they lost some quick wickets in that period.

They still managed to score 182 runs from their 20 overs.

In reply, the tall fast bowler from Zimbabwe, Blessing Muzarabani gave Multan a perfect start by picking up two wickets from the second over of the innings.

He dismissed the dangerous Kamran Akmal and Haider Ali in the same over to jolt Peshawar’s chase right from the start.

Shoaib Malik was the batter who looked good in that entire Peshawar’s batting lineup as he scored 44 runs off just 31 balls.

Ben Cutting also played a little cameo with the bat smashing 2 sixes and a four in Dahani’s over but that wasn’t enough as the asking rate was over 20 runs per over at that time.

Hence, Peshawar Zalmi lost the match by 42 runs as they were all out on just 140 runs. 

Masood and Rizwan’s excellent opening stand 

The skipper Mohammed Rizwan and the in-form Shan Masood gave Multan Sultans an ideal start to their innings.

Both of them played brilliantly in the powerplay scoring 53 runs from it without losing any wicket and that was the difference between the two sides as Peshawar lost 3 wickets for 42 runs from their powerplay which hurt them badly.

The 98 runs stand between these two was ended by Wahab Riaz who dismissed Mohammed Rizwan in the 13th over, he scored run-a-ball 34 runs. 

Shan Masood also played another magnificent knock in this season.

He scored 68 runs off just 49 balls including 8 fours and a six.

Shan Masood is currently on the second spot on the chart of highest run-scorer of this tournament with 343 runs.

He was also declared Player of the Match award for his outstanding performance. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL 2023 Predictions: PBKS vs MI

Punjab Kings and Mumbai Indians will clash in Match 45 of the IPL 2023 on Wednesday evening in Mohali. Mumbai Indians have been very inconsistent...

IPL nuggets: Fans go gaga over Ishant’s knuckle ball

Delhi Capitals pulled off a major upset by beating the table toppers Gujarat Titans by 5 runs at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium yesterday. Defending a...

IPL nuggets: Kohli and Gambhir clash again after LSG lose

Cricketers Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir are known for their aggression. Unfortunately, that attitude has cost them dearly! Both have been fined 100 per cent of...