‘Jitbe kara? Mohun Bagan!’ – Fans react as Mohun Bagan beat East Bengal by 1-0 in Durand Cup final

Mohun Bagan win Durand Cup
Mohun Bagan win Durand Cup (Source: Twitter)

In a thrilling Durand Cup 2023 final at Kolkata’s Salt Lake Stadium on Sunday, Mohun Bagan Super Giants triumphed 1-0 against East Bengal, securing their 17th Durand Cup title. Dimitri Petratos, the Australian forward for Mohun Bagan SG, was the hero with his 71st-minute goal. Despite being reduced to 10 men after Anirudh Thapa’s red card in the 62nd minute, East Bengal couldn’t capitalize on their numerical advantage.

This historic victory made Mohun Bagan SG the most successful team in Durand Cup history, surpassing East Bengal’s 16 titles. The last time Mohun Bagan SG clinched the Durand Cup was in 2000, and they had reached the finals in 2004, 2009, and 2019, only to falter each time. In a memorable showdown in 2004, they lost 2-1 to East Bengal.

Dimitri Petratos broke the deadlock for Mohun Bagan in the 71st minute

The first half-hour of the game saw Mohun Bagan SG dominate possession, but East Bengal, entering the final as the unbeaten team, gradually found their rhythm. The intensity picked up towards the end of the first half, with Mohamad Rakip and Borja Herrera orchestrating a counter-attack for East Bengal, but Nandhakumar Sekar’s volley went off target. Mohun Bagan SG also had their moments, with Dimitri Petratos missing a golden opportunity in extra time.

Despite receiving three yellow cards before halftime, Mohun Bagan SG held East Bengal at bay. However, their situation worsened when Anirudh Thapa received a second yellow card for a high boot in the 62nd minute. Surprisingly, Mohun Bagan SG remained more threatening on the attack even with a numerical disadvantage. It was Dimitri Petratos who broke the deadlock in the 71st minute with a powerful left-footed shot from outside the box, marking the only shot on target for Mohun Bagan SG throughout the match.

East Bengal had six shots on target but lacked the finishing touch in the final third, ultimately failing to score despite having 10 minutes of extra time in the second half. Notably, East Bengal had previously defeated Mohun Bagan SG 1-0 during the group stages of the Durand Cup 2023, marking their first win over their rivals in four years. East Bengal’s last major trophy had come in 2012 at the Federation Cup. The Durand Cup 2023, which commenced on August 3rd, featured 24 teams, four more than the previous year, vying for the prestigious title.

Here’s how fans reacted:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here