ATK Mohun Bagan are the ISL champions!

The Kolkata club ATK Mohun Bagan has once again been crowned champions of India! For the first time in their celebrated history, they have taken home the coveted ISL trophy!

In a tightly contested final against Bengaluru FC, ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves and emerged victorious with a thrilling 4-3 penalty shootout.

Bengaluru FC has won the ISL once in 2018, while ATK Mohun Bagan, who played their first season in ISL from 2020-21, have never won the title so far.

However, they came close in their inaugural campaign, finishing as runners up.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa witnessed a sight to behold as the players and travelling fans erupted in joy, lifting the trophy high.

The game was nothing short of a rollercoaster ride, full of twists and turns.

The match started with a moment of drama when Bengaluru FC had to deal with an early crisis as Irishman Carl McHugh’s towering elbow met with youngster Sivasakthi’s jaw.

Skipper Sunil Chhetri came on within the first minute of the game, much earlier than his recent appearances off the bench.

In the 13th minute, Roy Krishna seemed to handle the ball inside the box, and referee Harish Kundu pointed to the spot.

Dimitri Petratos, as sure as ever, slotted the ball in the bottom left corner, with Bengaluru goalie Gurpreet Singh Sandhu diving in the right direction but unable to stop the powerful shot.

ATK Mohun Bagan made use of this advantage to put pressure on Bengaluru FC, who picked up a glut of yellow cards on the pitch and one off it for head coach Simon Grayson.

But in the final minute of first-half stoppage time, they were given a way back when Bose missed the ball and made contact with Krishna while attempting a clearance.

Chhetri stepped up to take it and sent Vishal Kaith the wrong way to restore parity.

The game remained neck and neck, with both teams exchanging blows, but the moment of truth came in the penalty shootout.

ATK Mohun Bagan’s Dimitri Petratos scored all three penalties he took on the night, while Vishal Kaith’s save from Bruno Ramires’ penalty in the shootout brought them one step closer to glory.

Bengaluru FC’s Pablo Perez then sent his spot-kick over the bar, sealing the result in a game where ATK Mohun Bagan had unsettled Bengaluru FC right from the start.

As the winners, ATK Mohun Bagan took home a prize money of INR 6 crore, while runners-up Bengaluru FC were awarded INR 2.5 crore.

But this victory was more than just about money or trophies. In the context of Indian football, there’s never been a club bigger than Mohun Bagan or ATK Mohun Bagan, as they are called now.

Their victory over East Yorkshire Regiment in the 1911 IFA Shield final was just the start of what has been the greatest story of football in this country.

Established in 1889, the Mariners have won five I-League titles, 14 Federation Cups, 16 Durand Cups, 20 IFA Shields, and numerous other trophies, establishing themselves as the biggest club on the field in India.

ATK Mohun Bagan is often referred to by its fans as the ‘national club of India’, and they have once again proved why they deserve that title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL nuggets: Meet the ‘Ferrari’ of Rajasthan Royals

What's with the name, eh? Well, in a recent Instagram post, the spin pair of Rajasthan Royals, Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal posted a picture with...

IPL nuggets: Josh Hazlewood still injured, leaves RCB anxious

Josh Hazlewood will not be available to Royal Challengers Bangalore for the initial stages of IPL 2023 as he continues to recover from an...

IPL: Preview Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 is all set to begin on March 31, with defending champions Gujarat Titans taking on Chennai Super Kings...