England’s 28 member squad for Nation’s League but no place for Sancho

England manager Gareth Southgate has plenty of options but time is running out before he finalises his World Cup squad.

The Nation’s League will be Southgate’s last opportunity to experiment.

The Three Lions play their final two games before November’s FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

The first of these will be the trip to Milan on Friday 23 September against Italy before they welcome Germany to Wembley Stadium on Monday 26 September.

Among the 28-strong group is a maiden call-up for Brentford striker Ivan Toney, while there is also a return to the squad for Tottenham Hotspur defender Eric Dier.

However, there is no place for Manchester United duo Jadon Sancho and Marcus Rashford.

Rashford was ruled out of United’s Europa League game against Sheriff Tiraspol on Thursday through injury.

Sancho has been in good goal-scoring form for the Red Devils, with three goals in six matches.

He has been pushing for a return to the national team following a disappointing 2021-22 campaign.

On Dier, Southgate said, “With Eric Dier, he has been playing well for a period of time. We think it is a really close call across our centre-backs and he has deserved to be picked back in the group.”

“We know what a good character he is. He fits in with the culture and has great international experience and leadership qualities.”

Meanwhile, Ivan Toney’s form has been impossible to ignore.

Toney, 26, has scored five goals in six Premier League games this season.

Midfielder Jordan Henderson and keeper Jordan Pickford were not selected because of injury.

Manchester City’s Kalvin Phillips has been included despite playing just 13 competitive minutes this season.

Southgate has stayed loyal to Harry Maguire, who has been benched three times in the Premier League this term by Ten Hag.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Marc Guehi, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Fikayo Tomori, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse

Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Jarrod Bowen, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Ivan Toney


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL 2023: Full list of fixtures and timings

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League – IPL 2023 will kickstart on March 31. The first match will be between Gujarat Titans and...

Revealed: Julian Nagelsmann’s next club will be…

Julian Nagelsmann has been heavily linked with the Tottenham managerial position following the sacking of Antonio Conte on Sunday night. The German has only recently...

Shreyas Iyer ruled out of IPL, who will be KKR captain?

In a massive blow for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), their skipper Shreyas Iyer will miss the upcoming edition of the cash-rich league due to...