Euro 2020: Muller and Hummels back in German squad


Germany coach Joachim Löw announced his 26-man squad for the upcoming European Championship on Wednesday.

A total of eight Bayern players are in it, including 2014 World Cup winner Thomas Müller, who returns to the national team for the first time since November 2018.

Mueller and Hummels, winners of the 2014 World Cup under Loew were dropped after Germany’s disappointing first round exit at the 2018 World Cup and their abysmal Nations Cup performance later in the year.

It has helped that both the players have been in irresistible form.

Muller, for instance, had 18 assists and scored 11 goals in the Bundesliga.

And Hummels established himself as the defensive bedrock of the German Cup champions, Borussia Dortmund.

More importantly, Loew realised that the experiments involving the squad overhaul haven’t really paid off.

Last November, Germany crashed to their biggest ever competitive defeat, losing 6-0 to Spain.

Wisely, Loew has eaten humble pie and gone back to his proven performers, instead of going for young blood.

Talking about Muller and Hummels, Loew said, “They have played a very strong season. They can add a lot to the team in terms of leadership on the pitch. 

“They know our mindset, philosophy, and are respected by the other players because of what they have accomplished.” 

Muller, who scored 38 goals in 100 appearances for Germany, can play on the wing or in attacking midfield and will bolster Germany’s options at the Euros.

Other surprising inclusions were AS Monaco striker Kevin Volland and Freiburg left-back Christian Günter.

Günter hasn’t featured for Germany since his debut in May 2014 while Volland played his last game for the national team in November 2016. 

Germany open their Euro campaign against world champions France on June 15.

They face holders Portugal on 19 June, before taking on Hungary in their final group match on 23 June.

All three group games will be played at Munich’s Allianz Arena.


Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Bernd Leno, Kevin Trapp

Defenders: Matthias Ginter, Robin Gosens, Christian Gunter, Marcel Halstenberg, Mats Hummels, Lukas Klostermann, Robin Koch, Antonio Rudiger, Niklas Sule

Midfielders: Emre Can, Leon Goretzka, Ilkay Gundogan, Joshua Kimmich, Toni Kroos, Jamal Musiala, Florian Neuhaus

Forwards: Serge Gnabry, Kai Havertz, Jonas Hofmann, Thomas Muller, Leroy Sane, Kevin Volland, Timo Werner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here