ICC T20: Warner powers Aussies to title win

Image credits: Twitter Australia Cricket

Williamson’s outstanding 85 runs went in vain as Australia won yet another ICC trophy.

Sadly, New Zealand lost their 2nd straight limited-overs world cup.

The luck was with Aaron Finch once again as Australia won the toss and without any doubt, they choose to bowl first.

New Zealand started slowly and they lost D. Mitchell in the 4th over.

Guptill played a very slow inning as he scored just 28 runs off 35 balls including 3 fours.

He is known for his hard-hitting in this format but today he played an innings that was not of Guptill’s calibre.

New Zealand scored just 57 runs in the first 10 overs.

Kane Williamson’s superb knock

The cool and calm Kane Williamson is  the star with the bat for the Black Caps.

Kane Williamson played a brilliant inning of 85 runs off just 48 balls including 10 fours and 3 sixes.

New Zealand scored 172 runs because of his outstanding inning.

None of the other New Zealand batters was able to cross 30 runs.

Josh Hazelwood picked up 3 major wickets and conceded just 16 runs in his spell of 4 overs. 

While Kane Williamson smashed 85 runs, the rest of the New Zealand batters scored 78 runs off 73 balls.

Warner and Marsh match-winning stand

Australia lost their skipper Aaron Finch very early in their innings.

But again it was Warner who stood up and scored another brilliant half-century.

His stand with Marsh was the reason for Australia’s victory in this Final.

When things were looking very easy for Australia, Trent Boult bowled out the dangerous Warner and ended the brilliant 92 runs stand between Warner and Marsh.

Warner scored 53 runs off 38 balls.

He smashed 3 sixes and 4 fours.

Before the tournament, his selection in the team was criticised due to his poor form in the IPL.

Yet, he proved everybody to that form is temporary but the class of a match-winner player like him is permanent. 

Mitchell Marsh played a brilliant knock in the final.

He is the leading run-scorer for Australia in the year 2021 as he has scored over 600+ runs in this year so far.

After Warner’s dismissal, Marsh continued his power show and he remained unbeaten on 77 runs off just 50 balls.

He smashed 6 fours and 4 brilliant sixes

Australia: The World T20 Champions 

Australia chased down the total in 18.5 overs with still eight wickets in hand.

Maxwell (28 off 18) and Marsh (77 off 50) remained not out in the end.

Australia has now finally won a T20 World Cup.

This was the first time the 5-time ODI World Cup winners lifted the T20 World Cup.

The wait for New Zealand continues 

New Zealand on the other  hand failed to win the final of a limited-over world cup again.

They were the runners-up of the 2019 ODI world cup and now they are the runners-up of the 2021 T20 world cup.

The wait to win a limited-over world cup continues for New Zealand. 


New Zealand            20 overs           172-4

 Williamson  85 (48)                 Hazelwood     3-16

 Guptill         28 (35)                  Zampa             1-26

Australia                         18.5 overs     173-2

Marsh        77*(50)                Boult             2-18

Warner      53 (38)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here