Babar named captain of ICC T20 Team of Tournament

Image credits: Twitter Babar Azam

Though Pakistan didn’t win the tournament, it won a lot of hearts at the ICCT20 World Cup.

One of Pakistan’s flag-bearers was their captain, Babar Azam.

For his efforts, he was chosen ‘captain’ of the ICC Team of the Tournament.

Not surprisingly, no Indian cricketer figured in the ICC’s T20 World Cup Team.

Players from six different countries, including Sri Lanka and South Africa were chosen.

South Africa’s Aiden Markram and Anirch Nortje and Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka and Wanindu Hasaranga were chosen even though their teams didn’t make it to the semi-finals.

Opening batter and ‘Player of the Tournament’ David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all made the cut for Australia after helping steer their side to their first ever T20 World Cup title.

There were also spots for England’s Jos Buttler as wicketkeeper and New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult.

Sri Lankan star Hasaranga was chosen for being the tournament’s leading wicket-taker.

One of the jury members, former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop, said: “As with any team selection there will be varying opinions, and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad.

“The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament.”

“Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final.”

T20 World Cup 2021 Team of the Tournament: 

David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper, England), Babar Azam (captain, Pakistan), Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa (Australia), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Anrich Nortje (South Africa), Shaheen Afridi (twelfth man, Pakistan).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here