Euro 2020: Czechs dump the Dutch

Image credits: Twitter Euro 2020

Czech Republic joined Italy and Denmark amongst the countries to make it to the last 8 of Euro 2020.

The Czech side achieved this milestone by producing a stunning upset – an impressive 2-0 victory over Netherlands.

The Czechs advance to the last eight of the competition for the first time since Euro 2012.

For the Netherlands, it was their first knockout game since the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The Dutch had defeated North Macedonia, Austria and Ukraine on the road to the Euro Round of 16, but those teams weren’t exactly top drawer.

The first half was evenly balanced with both nations creating frequent attacks going forward, but without any goals to show for it.

The Czechs having the first chance after 23 minutes when Tomas Soucek’s diving header passed the post.

The Czechs had another great chance after 34 minutes, but De Ligt made a superb block to thwart Lukas Masopust.

The best chance fell to Donyell Malen, in the seventh minute of the second half from an incisive Depay pass but he failed to get around Czech goalkeeper Tomas Vaclik.

The Czechs were clearly given quite a helping hand by a glaring error by the Juventus star defender, Matthijs De Ligt, shortly after the first half.

Matthijs de Ligt received a red card for handling the ball when he was the last line of defence, leaving the referee with no choice.

The referee used the VAR check which clearly showed that De Ligt had deprived Schick of a scoring opportunity by using his hand to control the ball.

It was a rush of blood that swung the match in the Czech Republic’s favour.

After the Netherlands went down to 10 men, the Czech Republic went for the kill.

After 68 minutes, a corner kick from Tomas Kalas allowed the ball to come to an unmarked Holes who promptly headed it in.

Then, in the 80th minute, the Czechs produced a counter-attack which led to their marksman, Patrick Schick converting from inside the box.

Netherlands XI

Stekelenburg, Wijnaldum, Blind, Van Aanholt, De Vrij, De Roon, Depay, Dumfries, De Ligt, De Jong, D. Malen


Krul, Veltman, M. Bizot, Berghuis, Klaassen, Ake, Promes, Weghorst, C. Gakpo, O.  Wijndal, Gravenberch, J. Timber

Czech Republic XI

Vaclik, O. Čelůstka, Kaderábek, V. Coufal, T. Kalas, T. Holeš, L. Masopust, Schick, P. Ševčík, Barak, Soucek


T. Pekhart, Vydra, J. Brabec, T. Koubek, M. Krmenčík, A. Mandous, Mateju, J. Pešek, M. Sadílek, Jankto, A. Král, A. Hložek


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here