3rd ODI: Sri Lanka grab consolation win

Image credits: Twitter Sri Lanka Cricket
Slider with alias hp-slider not found.

An experimental Indian side lost the third ODI to Sri Lanka, resulting in a 2-1 series loss for the islanders.

Winning the toss, Indian skipper Shikhar Dhawan elected to bat first, making six changes, besides handing five players their debut.

As for Lanka, Dasun Shanaka made three changes, bringing in Praveen Jayawickrama, Akila Dananjaya and Ramesh Mendis.

The visitors were shot out for 225 in 43.1 overs in a rain-interrupted innings.

India was off to a slow start, losing opener Dhawan for 13 in the third over to pacer Dushmantha Chameera.

This was followed by a 74-run stand for the second wicket between fellow opener Prithvi Shaw and wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson.

Shaw was particularly aggressive and struck three fours in four balls in Jayawickrama’s third ODI over.

Finally, Shaw was out for a run-a-ball 49 when he missed a leg-side shot against Dasun Shanaka.

Samson followed soon after as tried to hit Jayawickrama inside out and was caught at cover for a run-a-ball 46.

Samson fell in the 19th over when the score was 118.

In the 23rd over, rain intervened and the game was reduced to 47 overs per side.

After the break, India looked to accelerate the run rate but kept losing wickets.

Suryakumar Yadav was the only middle-order batsman who performed, with a knock of 40.

Yadav’s 40 off 37 balls batted beautifully and hit seven boundaries before Akila Dananjaya trapped him leg before.

For Lanka, six bowlers were utilised, with Dananjaya and Jayawickrama being the most effective, claiming three each.

Lanka batsmen shine

The Lankans rode on half-centuries from Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to win their first one-day international against India since 2017.

Fernando top-scored with 76 while Rajapaksa made 65 as the hosts crossed the finish line in the 38th over.

Sri Lanka suffered a stutter after twin strikes by Chetan Sakariya who got rid of Rajapaksa and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Rahul Chahar bagged three wickets however the Lankans didn’t look in any real danger, thanks to the 109-run stand between Avishka and Rajapaksa.

Finally, Ramesh Mendis and Akila Dananjaya displayed cool heads to take the Lankans home.

47-over game Sri Lanka 227 for 7 (Fernando 76, Rajapaksa 65, Chahar 3-54, Sakariya 2-34) beat India 225 (Shaw 49, Dananjaya 3-44, Jayawickrama 3-59) by three wickets


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here