WATCH: Rohit Sharma’s wife Ritika Sajdeh couldn’t hold her tears after India’s ODI World Cup 2023 final loss

Ritika Sajdeh and Rohit Sharma (Source - Twitter)
Ritika Sajdeh and Rohit Sharma (Source - Twitter)

Indian fans are still recovering after India’s heart-breaking 6-wicket loss to Australia in the ODI World Cup 2023 final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, November 19. However, it was more heart-breaking for the players themselves who were unbeatable throughout the tournament but lost the must-win clash.

After the match, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma was spotted shedding tears as he was disheartened by the loss. Apart from him, Mohammed Siraj was also spotted crying. Meanwhile, Rohit’s wife Ritika Sajdeh, who attends almost every match in which Rohit plays, was also seen bursting into tears after the loss.

Watch the video here:

Brilliant all-round performance by Australia

Talking about the match, Australia chose to field first and managed to dismiss India for 240 runs in 50 overs. Despite the challenging batting conditions, captain Rohit Sharma (47 runs in 31 balls, including four boundaries and three sixes), Virat Kohli (54 runs in 63 balls, with four boundaries), and KL Rahul (66 runs in 107 balls, featuring one four) played crucial innings. Mitchell Starc was the standout bowler for Australia, claiming 3 wickets for 55 runs. Skipper Pat Cummins (2/34) and Josh Hazlewood (2/60) also bowled impressively, while Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell each secured a wicket.

In the second innings, India made a strong start and had Australia struggling at 47/3. However, impressive performances from Travis Head (137 runs in 120 balls, with 15 fours and four sixes) and Marnus Labuschagne (58 runs in 110 balls, with four boundaries) thwarted India’s efforts, leading Australia to a convincing six-wicket victory. Mohammed Shami claimed one wicket, and Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets for India.

The Men in Blue will now face Australia in the 5-match T20I series which will start on November 23. The series will conclude on December 3, however, the team is yet to be announced by the Indian Cricket Board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here