WATCH: Rinku Singh reveals reason behind his Asian Games 2023 selection, credits his special IPL 2023 knock

Rinku Singh reliving his special IPL 2023 knock (Source - Twitter)
Rinku Singh reliving his special IPL 2023 knock (Source - Twitter)

Uttar Pradesh middle-order batter in domestic cricket and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) star Rinku Singh became the overnight sensation when he smashed 5 consecutive sixes in the final over during a match between KKR and Gujarat Titans (GT) in the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.

Rinku couldn’t make it to India’s T20I squad for the West Indies series but he has gotten a place in the Indian squad for the Asian Games 2023. Meanwhile, Rinku recently opened up on this golden opportunity and said that those 5 sixes were the turning point in his life as after that knock many people started recognising him and he also got a chance to play for India.

Watch the video here:

“Those five sixes were a turning point in my life. Before that, people knew me, but not many people really knew me. However, after those five sixes, many people started recognizing me.” Rinku was quoted as saying by Cricket One.

I was very emotional when I got the news about my selection: Rinku Singh

The left-handed batter revealed that he was very emotional when he heard the news of his selection as he has worked hard all his life to represent the national team on a grand stage. He also mentioned that his family and friends were dancing after his selection. He also talked about the title ‘Lord’ which was given to him by the fans after his tremendous knock against GT.

“I was very emotional when I got the news about my selection for the Asian Games. I have done all the hard work throughout my life for this only. Everyone at home was happy. Friends and family were dancing. So I was very happy. The title of ‘Lord’ started coming my way after that remarkable inning only. I’m grateful for all the love and support from everyone.” 

India squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper)

Standby players: Yash Thakur, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here