Son of paan seller, rejected by Rohit Sharma but given another life by Ajit Agarkar

Rohit Sharma and Ajit Agarkar
Rohit Sharma and Ajit Agarkar (Source: Twitter)

India pacer Avesh Khan has not had a great stint with the Indian Cricket Team so far. In 20 international appearances, Avesh has scalped 16 wickets. Bought by Lucknow Super Giants ahead of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, he performed admirably, picking up 18 wickets in the season. However, his performance level dropped in 2023 when he scalped just 8 wickets. Avesh lost the trust of the skipper Rohit Sharma, making his comeback to the national team very tough. Luckily, Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar had a different plan for him.

Avesh has been selected for the Asian Games 2022. The team is led by Chennai Super Kings batter Ruturaj Gaikwad as a relatively younger squad will battle for the gold at Hangzhou, China. The multi-lateral games start on September 23, 2023, and will finish on October 8, 2023. Avesh’s capabilities with the new ball and his habit of mixing up slower deliveries and yorkers is bound to help India in the Asian Games. This is because the T20 format will be followed for the tournament where India will directly play in the quarterfinal stages.

Avesh Khan receives 10 crore INR from LSG annually

The rise of Avesh Khan is an inspiring story. Coming from a humble background, Avesh, through his sweat and labour has uplifted his family’s living standard. According to a report by DNA, Avesh’s father used to sell paan in Indore. Later that paan shop was razed by authorities making it extremely difficult for Avesh’s family to meet basic necessities. But, Avesh did not give up, he continued to work hard and get better in the game. He has worked exceptionally well to help his family out of the financial crisis. He receives 10 crore INR from Lucknow Super Giants and that is surely helpful for Avesh and his family.

Here’s the selected squad for Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk). Stand-by players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here