WTC: Jamieson rises to the occasion

Image credits: Twitter Black caps

New Zealand wrested back the initiative when they bundled out for 217 on Day 3 of the WTC Final

The chief destroyer was the lanky Kyle Jamieson who dismissed Rohit, Kohli, Pant, Ishant and Bumrah to complete a 5-wicket haul.

The rot started in the first session with the wicket of Virat Kohli.

The Indian captain was standing well outside the crease to negate the swing from Kyle Jamieson but his RCB teammate outsmarted him by trapping him plumb in front of the stumps.

Rishabh Pant opened his account after 19 deliveries but was dismissed trying to drive a Jamieson delivery.

Rahane and Jadeja looked set to mount a fightback with a 26 runs before Rahane fell to an astute piece of captaincy.

Instructed by Williamson, left-arm pacer Wagner bowled a short delivery which was pulled by Rahane, straight into the hands of Tom Latham who was positioned specifically for the shot.

Jadeja and Ashwin took India past 200 before Tim Southee’s full-length delivery found the edge of Ashwin’s bat.

Jamieson completed his fifth 5-wicket haul in just 8 just Tests by dismissing Bumrah.

In the next over, Boult ended India’s first innings at 217 in 92.1 overs, by getting rid of Jadeja.

Determined reply by Kiwi openers

New Zealand openers Tom Latham and Devon Conway were slow but watchful in their start.

Their game plan was clearly to see off the new Dukes new ball.

Latham and Conway added 36 runs before going to the tea break, unbeaten on 17 and 18 respectively.

India got their first breakthrough in the 35th over when Latham tried to drive Ashwin’s flighted delivery and ended up giving a catch to Virat Kohli at extra-cover.

However, the openers had done their job by adding 70.

There was another reward for India late in the day when Ishant Sharma struck late to dismiss Conway for 54 (153 balls).

At stumps, New Zealand were 101 for 2 and clearly in a strong position, with Williamson and Taylor at the crease.

New Zealand 101 for 2 (Conway 54) trail India 217 (Rahane 49, Kohli 44, Jamieson 5-31) by 116 runs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here