David Warner returns to BBL after 9 years

David Warner shocked the Aussie cricket by announcing a shock return to BBL after 9 years.Warner last played in the BBL in 2013.

He ended months of speculation around his involvement in the tournament by announcing a two-year deal with Sydney Thunder.

His decision not to play the BBL has always been a sore point with Cricket Australia.

We don’t know what prompted this change of mind but it’s possible that the unpleasant experience with Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL may have made him rethink.

He is expected to be available for the franchise following the conclusion of the Sydney Test against South Africa.

In all likelihood, Warner will feature in five of Thunder’s league games.

After that, he will be absent as the Aussie team will go to India for a four Test tour.

This decision was a major disappointment to the organisers of the new UAE T20 tournament – ILT20, which clashes with the BBL in January.

However, at this stage of his career, it is understandable if Warner wants to maximise time spent with his family and gives a higher priority to tournaments on Aussie soil.

Warner was also quoted as saying “My ‘girls’ have told me that they’d love to watch me play at home and in the BBL.”

“It will be great for us to be a part of the BBL as a family, and it is something that I am really looking forward to sharing with them.”

In other BBL news, Travis Head has signed up with Adelaide Strikers and Marnus Labuschagne will represent Brisbane Heat.
However, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc will skip the BBL as they want to manage their workload, given the packed international schedule.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL 2023 Predictions: PBKS vs MI

Punjab Kings and Mumbai Indians will clash in Match 45 of the IPL 2023 on Wednesday evening in Mohali. Mumbai Indians have been very inconsistent...

IPL nuggets: Fans go gaga over Ishant’s knuckle ball

Delhi Capitals pulled off a major upset by beating the table toppers Gujarat Titans by 5 runs at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium yesterday. Defending a...

IPL nuggets: Kohli and Gambhir clash again after LSG lose

Cricketers Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir are known for their aggression. Unfortunately, that attitude has cost them dearly! Both have been fined 100 per cent of...