Dasun Shanaka to captain Lanka

Slider with alias hp-slider not found.

Dasun Shanaka on Friday became the 10th Sri Lankan captain in the past four years.

In the white-ball format, Shanaka is the 6th captain in four years, his predecessors being Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera.

The previous captain, wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera has been ruled out with a shoulder injury.

Shanaka leads a 23-member squad for the six-match series against India starting 18 July.

The series comprises 3 ODIs and 3 T20 matches.

The squad was announced by Sri Lanka Cricket after getting formal approval from sports minister Namal Rajapaksa.

Team status

The team was rocked by the withdrawal of senior cricketer, Angelo Mathews, 34 in the first week of July.

As per reports, Mathews was unhappy with his contract and disillusioned by the treatment accorded to him by the board.

However, the SLC has managed to put up a competitive team.

It contains several experienced players like vice-captain Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dhananjaya, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha.

What’s more, there are exciting batting talents like Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando and Charith Asalanka.

Their spin-bowling unit looks settled with the likes of Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya and Wanidu Hasaranga.

Interestingly, there is left arm wrist spinner too – Lakshan Sandakan in the squad.

There are three uncapped players in Lahiru Udara, Shiran Fernando and Ishan Jayaratne.

The trio of vice-captain Kusal Medis, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella and Danushka Gunathilaka have been suspended owing to their bio-bubble breach in England.

The series begins on Sunday with the one-dayers.

India will be led by Shikhar Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the vice-captain.

The series was postponed by 5 days after positive Covid-19 cases hit the Sri Lankan camp upon their arrival from England

Sri Lanka squad

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya De Silva (Vice Captain), Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You may Also Like

IPL 2023 Predictions: PBKS vs MI

Punjab Kings and Mumbai Indians will clash in Match 45 of the IPL 2023 on Wednesday evening in Mohali. Mumbai Indians have been very inconsistent...

IPL nuggets: Fans go gaga over Ishant’s knuckle ball

Delhi Capitals pulled off a major upset by beating the table toppers Gujarat Titans by 5 runs at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium yesterday. Defending a...

IPL nuggets: Kohli and Gambhir clash again after LSG lose

Cricketers Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir are known for their aggression. Unfortunately, that attitude has cost them dearly! Both have been fined 100 per cent of...