‘Australia ka Cheteshwar Pujara hai yeh’ – Fans react as Australia drops Marnus Labuschagne in preliminary squad for ODI World Cup 2023

Marnus Labuschagne, Australia
Marnus Labuschagne, Australia (Source: Twitter)

Australia announced a preliminary squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023. The same 18-member squad will play in the ODI series against South Africa and then tour India for another ODI series before participating in the ODI World Cup 2023. Surprisingly, Marnus Labuschagne did not make the cut while several rare faces like Aaron Hardie, Tanveer Sangha, and Nathan Ellis were named in the roster.

Here’s the initial 18-member squad – Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa. Out of these 18, three players will be dropped and the final 15-member squad for the World Cup will be finalised.

The T20I squad for the two upcoming series were also announced

Glenn Maxwell has been granted a family leave for some personal reason, he will join the squad directly in India and miss out on the South Africa series. Skipper Pat Cummins who sustained a minor injury in the final Test of Ashes 2023 will start in the South Africa series itself to get going in preparation for the World Cup. Australia Chief selector George Bailey spoke at length about these issues after the initial 18-member squad was announced.

“Pat injured his left wrist diving in the field on the first day at The Oval,” Chair of Selectors George Bailey said. “He has an undisplaced fracture of his left radius which requires six weeks rehabilitation. We expect him to join the squad during the South African ODI Series. We view a period of enforced rest for Pat as a positive ahead of this important World Cup campaign. There are still a number of games he could play before the World Cup which is more than enough for him to have a strong preparation,” he added.

The squad for the T20Is on the two tours was also announced. Here’s the squad: Mitchell Marsh (C), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Here’s how fans reacted:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here