Mumbai Indians are the WPL champions!



Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by seven wickets in the final to lift the inaugural Women’s Premier League trophy on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 132 runs, MI reached 134/3 in 19.3 overs, courtesy of an unbeaten half-century by Nat Sciver-Brunt.

Sciver-Brunt smacked an unbeaten knock of 60 runs off 55 balls, packed with seven fours.

Meanwhile, captain Harmanpreet Kaur played a crucial knock of 37 off 39 balls, with five fours.

Although DC was in the game till the 20th over due to the required run rate, the bowlers failed to tilt the game in their favour due to the failure to bag wickets.

After dismissing openers Hayley Mathews (13) and Yasika Bhatia (4), they failed to find any breakthrough.

Radha Yadav and Jess Jonassen bagged a wicket each for Delhi.

Initially, DC reached 131/9 in 20 overs, with Meg Lanning top-scoring with a knock of 35 runs off 29 balls, packed with five fours.

But the DC didn’t receive any support and lost her wicket in a freak run out.

Shafali Verma (11) and Marizanne Kapp (18) also reached double figures but could not capitalise on as DC were looking down the barrel at 79 for 9 in 16 overs.

With wickets tumbling, tailenders Shikha Pandey and Radha put in a strong final partnership to remain unbeaten.

Shikha smacked 27 runs off 17 balls, including three fours and a six.

Meanwhile, Radha hammered 27 off 12 deliveries, including two fours and two sixes.

Matthews returned with incredible figures of 4-2-5-3.

Also, Issy Wong (3/42) continued her sensational run, claiming three more wickets and Melie Kerr (2/18) was the other wicket taker for MI.

Hayley Matthews clinched the Purple Cap race after taking three wickets.

Delhi Capitals Women (Playing XI):

Meg Lanning(c), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia(w), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Minnu Mani

Mumbai Indians Women (Playing XI):

Yastika Bhatia(w), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Melie Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque

Brief Score:

Delhi Capitals: 131 for 9 in 20 overs (Meg Lanning 35; Hayley Matthews 3/5, Issy Wong 3/42).

Mumbai Indians: 134 for 3 in 19.3 overs (Nat Sciver-Brunt 60 not out, Harmanpreet kaur 37; Radha Yadav 1/24).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Exit mobile version