Covid hits Indian cricket team



As the West Indies series is inching closer, the Indian camp faced a huge blow.

As many as eight Indian players including Shreyas Iyer, Shikhar Dhawan and Ruturaj Gaikwad have tested Covid-19 positive upon their arrival in Ahmedabad.

The series, which is scheduled to begin on February 6, saw Dhawan, Iyer and Gaikwad share the bio-bubble along with other members of the Indian squad.

The players, who were in close contact with the trio, would also undergo isolation.

Even regular vice-captain KL Rahul is unavailable for the first ODI.

It will now remain to see who will open alongside skipper Rohit Sharma in the opening game.

India is scheduled to play the first of three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium from February 6.

They will then play three T20Is at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, starting on February 16.

India’s current ODI squad: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Exit mobile version