‘Zindagi bhar rote rahiyo tu’ – Fans react to Pakistani journalist opposing Omair Bin Yousuf’s wicket taken by Riyan Parag


In the ongoing final of the Emerging Asia Cup 2023, India won the toss and elected to bowl first. They had a poor start as Rajvardhan Hangargekar took Saim Ayub’s wicket but it turned out to be a no-ball. After this, the likes of Ayub and Sahibzada Farhan put together 121 runs for the first wicket. Both openers got out Manav Suthar and run-out respectively.

The third wicket fell in the form of Omair Bin Yousuf as he was caught and bowled by Riyan Parag. However, the wicket became a matter of controversy as looked like the ball touched the ground while landing into Parag’s palms. On the other hand, the third umpire was convinced that Yousuf was out. This led to a Pakistani journalist calling out the dismissal. He even mentioned India women’s skipper Harmanpreet Kaur.

“Omair Bin Yousuf given out there! How was this a clean catch and there was enough evidence to rule the batter out? Even Riyan Parag wasn’t sure, it was clearly dipping. Not sure what Harmanpreet Kaur would say re this! #EmergingAsiaCup,” Tweeted the Pakistani journalist.

We have to deal with this kind of umpiring: Harmanpreet Kaur

Meanwhile, in the third ODI between India and Bangladesh Women on July 21, the Women In Blue were in a great position to win the game. However, they lost the last six wickets for 34 runs which is why the game ended in a tie. After the game, Kaur said that the umpiring wasn’t up to the mark in the game.

“A lot of learning from this game,” Harmanpreet said at the presentation ceremony. “Even apart from the cricket, the type of umpiring that was happening there, we were very surprised. The next time whenever we are coming to Bangladesh, we’ll have to make sure we have to deal with this kind of umpiring and accordingly, we’ll have to prepare ourselves.”

This is how Twitter reacted


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here