‘Ni ye mazak ho raha hai?’ – Fans react as Mohammed Siraj gets rested for ODI series against West Indies

Mohammed Siraj (Source - Twitter)
Mohammed Siraj (Source - Twitter)

After winning the 2-match Test series 1-0, India are set to compete for a 3-match ODI series against West Indies starting from Thursday, July 27. This will also mark the beginning of the preparation for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023 which is set to be held later this year in India.

Meanwhile, the Indian Cricket Board has decided to give rest to their premium fast bowler Mohammed Siraj for the upcoming ODI series. It is to be believed that Siraj has been rested as the Indian team management want to reduce his workload. His main focus would be to take part in the upcoming Asia Cup and ODI World Cup.

As the ODI series is set to start, it is going to be a great opportunity for the players like Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik and Ishan Kishan to perform well and cement their place in the squad. Suryakumar has a bright chance to forget his last 3 ODI innings where he register 3 back-to-back golden ducks.

Who will be India’s wicketkeeper for the upcoming ODI series?

Samson, who has received multiple opportunities in his career but yet to become a permanent member of the squad, will definitely look to shine. However, it’d be interesting to see if he gets a place in the squad or if it’s Kishan who will be playing as the wicketkeeper-batter.

As Siraj is rested for the series, all eyes will be on the speedster Umran Malik. Mohammed Shami and Siraj are likely to play in the upcoming major tournament. With Bumrah being injured, it’s a golden opportunity for Malik to shine and cement his place in the squad. Apart from these, players like Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar and Jaydev Unadkat are also in the squad and looking for a great series individually.

India’s ODI squad for West Indies series: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-capt), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

Here’s how fans reacted:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here