‘Kya faida khelke’ – Fans react to Team India’s unique record of being unbeaten in 15 consecutive bilateral ODI series vs West Indies

India vs West Indies, ODI series
India vs West Indies, ODI series (Image Source: Twitter)

Team India began their World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 cycle with a bang as they defeated West Indies 1-0 in the two-match Test series. They missed a chance to clean sweep the host as rain spoiled day five of the last or second Test. Now, the Men in Blue are scheduled to play a three-match ODI series.

This series will begin the preparation for them for the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup in India. However, the Windies failed to get qualified for the mega event. It was another heartbreaking moment for the two-time ODI World Cup champions and their fans. Meanwhile, India hold a unique record against them as they are currently unbeaten in the last 15 consecutive ODI bilateral series. 

India last lost a bilateral ODI series against West Indies in 2006

In 2006, the Windies defeated India in an ODI bilateral series for the last time. They won that five-match series 4-1 despite losing the series opener. After that, India have managed to remain unbeaten in 15 consecutive ODI series, whether at home or away conditions. In 2022, the Men in Blue managed a clean sweep 3-0 in a three-match ODI series. Speaking of the upcoming series, many players like Yuzvendra Chahal, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya will be in action. 

Recently, an image went viral where these players were seen enjoying the Caribbean sea along with backroom staff. India announced their squad for the series before the tour while the Windies announced their squad on 25 July. However, some fans did not find this record to be proud of as India have failed to win major titles despite winning bilateral series with ease since 2013 across all three formats. Even, the Windies defeated them in the semi-final of the 2016 20-20 World Cup in India.  

West Indies squad: Shai Hope (c), Rovman Powell (vc), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair and Oshane Thomas.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik.

Here is how fans have reacted:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here