‘Khattam, Tata, Bye bye, Career gaya’ – Fans react as Shahnawaz Dahani likely to face disciplinary after slamming selectors over Asia Cup snub

Shahnawaz Dahani, Pakistan
Shahnawaz Dahani, Pakistan (Source: Twitter)

Days after the appointment of Inzamam-ul-Haq as the chief selector for the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the squad for the upcoming Aisa Cup ODI 2023 has been released. Surprisingly, Shahnawaz Dahani has not been named in the squad and the pacer has had a bit of an overreaction to the update. Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Wasim Jr. were picked over the 25-year-old pacer.

The Larkana-born replied to a tweet by former cricketer Rashid Latif which showed the List A records for Afridi, Naseem, Rauf, Wasim, Mohammad Hasnain, Faheem Ashraf, and Zaman Khan. He posted his own stats and wrote, “Seems as if Dahani is not a Pakistani pacer?’ He also slammed sports journalists for not questioning the selectors over the surprising call. “Not even a single journalist or cricket analyst even dared to ask questions or show these stats to selectors. #RIPSPORTSJOURNALISM,” he wrote on Twitter.

PCB will reportedly take disciplinary action on Shahnawaz Dahani

Later, he deleted his tweets, as reported by popular Pakistani Sports Journalist Farid Khan. According to reports from Qadir Khawaja, another notable Pakistani Sports Journalist, Dahani now faces disciplinary action from PCB for his reaction. “The Pakistan Cricket Board seems to have taken notice of Shahnawaz Dahani’s tweet, the legal team will decide what action to take tomorrow. The PCB doesn’t allow any cricketer to criticise the journalists or selection committee for no reason,” he wrote.

The 25-year-old speedster was part of the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023 squad that ended up winning the tournament. He also played in the previous edition of the Asia Cup, played in the T20 format. He has played in 11 T20Is and 2 ODIs for the Pakistan senior team. Notably, pace-bowling allrounder Nasheem Ashraf has been recalled in his place.

Here’s the full squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saud Shakeel (only Afghanistan series), Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir

Here’s how fans reacted:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here